Document Type



Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor's Name

Elissa Lakofsky

First Advisor's Committee Title

Committee Chair

Second Advisor's Name

Catherine Anne Rand

Third Advisor's Name

Robert B. Dundas

Fourth Advisor's Name

Joel Galand

Date of Defense



These extended program notes place the repertoire of my Master’s recital in historical context and analyze the structure. The works discussed are Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonata in E Minor for Flute and Continuo, BWV 1034; Paul Taffanel’s Andante Pastoral et Scherzettino for Flute and Piano; Sergei Prokofiev’s Sonata for Flute and Piano, op. 94; Aaron Copland’s Duo for Flute and Piano; and Olivier Messiaen’s Le Merle Noir (The Blackbird). I provide an individual essay for each piece, and the entries are chronologically organized according to the composition’s dates.

This document aims to give the reader an overview of these works and assist in the understanding of the pieces’ most significant characteristics. This analysis was useful to me in preparing my graduate recital. It is my intention to elicit from the reader a similar appreciation of this repertoire.





Rights Statement

Rights Statement

In Copyright. URI:
This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).