# Florida International University FIU Digital Commons

SGA BBC Document Archive

11-21-2012

# Senate Meeting Minutes 11.21.12

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive

## Recommended Citation

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University, "Senate Meeting Minutes 11.21.12" (2012). SGA BBC Document Archive. 856.

https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive/856

This work is brought to you for free and open access by FIU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in SGA BBC Document Archive by an authorized administrator of FIU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact dcc@fiu.edu.



# Florida International University

#### **MINUTES**

# SGC-BBC Senate Special Meeting November 21st, 2012

### I. CALL TO ORDER

The Student Government Council - Biscayne Bay Campus held a Senate Special meeting on November 21st 2012, in WUC 300 SGA Conference Room. The meeting was called to order at approximately **3:34pm** by Speaker of the Senate Oluwatamilore Odimayo.

### II. ROLL CALL

#### A. In Attendance

Oluwatobi Adekoya, President of the Senate / Vice President
Jazmin Felix, Lower Division Senator
Magalie Gabriel, Lower Division Senator
Ismail Hassan, Arts & Sciences Senator
Kimberly Jurgensen, Journalism and Mass Communication Senator
Carolina Krauskopf, Honors College Senator
Christopher Morisset, Lower Division Senator
Ami Nakagawa, Business Administration Senator
Jungeun Kim , Parliamentarian / Chief Justice
Francheska Periche, Parliamentarian / Chief Justice
Oluwatamilore Odimayo, Senator At-Large / Speaker of the Senate
Mahfoudh Oubadji, Graduate Senator
Abel Ramos Taype, Senator At-Large / Speaker Pro-Tempore of the Senate

#### **B.** Absences

Sola Adebodun, Senator At-Large
Olivia Dehaarte, Arts & Sciences Senator
Kerline Honore, Arts & Sciences Senator
Darlyne Joseph, Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator
Jianyi Wang, Housing Senator
Xue Yan, Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator

#### C. Guests

#### **III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

 Motion: Senator Nakagawa moved to table last Senate Meeting minutes to next Senate Meeting.

Senator Felix seconded (passed unanimously)

#### **IV.** LEGISLATIVE REPORTS

Motion: Senator Felix moved by pass reports
 Senator Jurgensen seconded (passed unanimously)

#### V. OLD BUSINESS

A. Senate Bill 11: Adding a new requirement for the Emolument recommendations

Speaker Odimayo recognized agenda item as passed during last Senate Meeting.

B. Senate Bill 12: Adding Senate page(s) and more responsibilities to officers of the Senate and verifying qualifications

Speaker Odimayo recognized agenda item as passed during last Senate Meeting.

C. Senate Bill 13: Adding new duties to each member of the Judicial Branch

Senator Ramos Taype started reading the document.

Senator Ramos Taype recognized some mistakes on the document.

o **Motion:** Senator Ramos Taype moved to table agenda item for next Senate Meeting.

Senator Felix seconded. (passed unanimously)

D. Senate Bill 09: Constitutional Correction to Section 404.08 of the SGC-BBC Statutes

Senator Ramos Taype started reading the document.

- Amendment: To change to "entire Senate Membership" based on the Constitution.
- o Motion: Senator Jazmin moved to by pass rules and move to voting.

Senator Oubadji seconded (passed unanimous acclamation)

### E. Senate Bill 02: Change Chapter 101 (Amendments to the statutes)

Senator Ramos Taype started reading the document.

 Motion: Senator Nakagawa moved to have a friendly amendment on section 101.04 from "review" to "be reviewed".

Senator Ramos Taype accepted.

Senator Hassan seconded (passed unanimously)

Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to by pass rules and move to voting.
 Senator Oubadji seconded (passed unanimous acclamation)

#### F. Senate Bill 03: Adding additional definitions of terms (Chapter 103)

 Motion: Senator Morisset moved to open discussion and remove Chief of Staff and Elections Commissioner from the changes"

Senator Krauskopf seconded (passed unanimously)

 Motion: Senator Nakagawa moved to have a friendly amendment to change wording of "rds"

Senator Krauskopf accepts.

 Motion: Senator Felix moved to by pass rules and move to voting Senator Krauskopf seconded
 Senator Nakagawa had a decent vote.
 (motion failed by not having unanimous acclamation)
 (retracted then by the author)

 Motion: Senator Felix moved to by pass rules and move to voting Senator Krauskopf seconded

**Point of Parliamentarian Procedure:** Senator Ramos Taype called for not having enough quorum for passing any bill, since two-thirds vote is needed. At that moment, only 10 senators were present.

 Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to pass all first reading of all bills that were previously read.

Senator Jurgensen seconded

#### G. Senate Bill 04: Clarification as "President of the Senate" in Section 202.05

Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to pass first reading of bill.
 Senator Nakagawa seconded (passed unanimously)

# H. Senate Bill 05: Adding Elections board to the composition of the Executive Branch (Section 300.02)

- Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to open discussion.
   Senator Morisset seconded (passed unanimously)
- Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to closed discussion.
   Senator Hassan seconded (passed unanimously)
- Motion: Senator Felix moved to pass first reading for Bill 05.
   Senator Jurgensen seconded (passed unanimously)

#### Point of Personal Privilege granted to Senator Oubadji approximately at 4:40pm

- I. Senate Bill 06: Constitutional correction to Section 302.03
  - Motion: Senator Felix moved to pass first reading of Senate Bill 06.
     Senator Krauskopf seconded (passed unanimously)

# Senator Honore walked in approximately at 4:43pm

- J. Senate Bill 07: Adding a new duty for the Comptroller (Section 302.04)
  - Motion: Senator Gabriel moved to open discussion.
     Senator Morisset seconded (passed unanimously)
  - Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to close discussion.
     Senator Krauskopf seconded (passed unanimously)

Speaker Odimayo adjourned the meeting at 4:47pm