Florida International University FIU Digital Commons

SGA BBC Document Archive

9-5-2012

Senate Meeting Minutes 09.05.12 Special Session

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive

Recommended Citation

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University, "Senate Meeting Minutes 09.05.12 Special Session" (2012). SGA BBC Document Archive. 847.

https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive/847

This work is brought to you for free and open access by FIU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in SGA BBC Document Archive by an authorized administrator of FIU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact dcc@fiu.edu.



Florida International University

Student Government Council - Biscayne Bay Campus & Pines Center

MINUTES

SGC-BBC Special Senate Meeting September 5th, 2012

I. CALL TO ORDER

The Student Government Council - Biscayne Bay Campus held a Senate meeting on September 5th, 2012, in room WUC 221. The meeting was called to order at approximately **4:15pm**, by Speaker of the Senate Oluwatamilore Odimayo.

II. IN ATTENDANCE

Sola Adebodun, Senator At-Large
Oluwatobi Adekoya, President of the Senate / SGC-BBC Vice President
Micaela Cohen, Parliamentarian / Justice
Kerline Honore, Arts & Sciences Senator
Kimberly Jurgensen, Broward Pines Center Senator
Carolina Krauskopf, Honors College Senator
Christopher Morisset, Lower Division Senator
Ami Nakagawa, Business Administration Senator
Oluwatamilore Odimayo, Senator At-Large / Speaker of the Senate
Abel Ramos Taype, Senator At-Large / Speaker Pro-Tempore of the Senate
Xue Yan, Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator Late 4:25pm

III. GUESTS

Rafael Zapata, Student Government Advisor
Larissa Adames, Student Government Clerk
Darlyne Joseph, Hospitality and Tourism Management Applicant
Lorena Lizaralde, Hospitality and Tourism Management Applicant
Ismail Hassan, Arts & Sciences Applicant
Olivia Dehaarte, Arts & Sciences Applicant
Jianyi Wang, Housing Applicant
Joshua Carrasco, Student

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion: Senator Ramos moved to approve last three senate meetings.
 Senator Krauskopf seconds (passed unanimously)

V. SPEAKER OF THE SENATE REPORT

No report.

VI. SPEAKER PRO-TEMPORE REPORT

No report.

VII. FINANCE CHAIR REPORT

No Report

VIII. RULES, LEGISLATION AND JUDICIARY CHAIR REPORT

Vacant.

IX. OPERATIONAL REVIEW CHAIR REPORT

No report.

X. INTERNAL AFFAIRS CHAIR REPORT

No report.

XI. STUDENT ADVOCACY CHAIR REPORT

- Surveys were made and sent by e-mail.
- Members of the committee were tabling surveys.
- Surveys are also found on Facebook.
- Chair requested to spread the word about the survey through out social networks.

XII. OLD BUSINESS

A. Impeachment Procedures.

Stephen Nunez resigned to his position as Journalism and Mass Communication senator; therefore an impeachment process is not needed.

B. Meet Your Dean Event

The event will be on September 10th in WUC 221.

- The cost of the event will be \$575.00 dollars, which would cover coffee, soda, ice, paper goods, chicken tenders, and others.
- The quote was recently received from the Catering Center.
 - Motion: Senator Adebodun moved to spend the money for the September 10th event.

Senator Honore seconded.

Roll Call Vote:

Sola Adebodun	Yay
Kerline Honore	Yay
Kim Jurgensen	Yay
Carolina Krauskopf	Yay
Christopher Morisset	Yay
Ami Nakagawa	Yay
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yay
Abel Ramos Taype	Yay
Xue Yan	Abstained

By a vote of 8/0/1 motion passed.

C. Power outlet resolution

 Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to table the Power Outlet Resolution Revision for next senate meeting

Senator Jurgensen seconded the motion. (passed unanimously)

XIII. NEW BUSINESS

A. Andrew Shantz Appropriation

- Appropriation was read and presented to the Senate.
- Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for debate.
 - Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to table that item to be discussed at the end of the agenda.

Senator Adebodun seconded the motion. (passed unanimously)

New Business Agenda Item "A" was tabled to the end.

B. Senate Appointments / Senate Switch

1. Position switched: Kimberly Jurgensen, from Broward Pines Senator to Journalism and Mass Communication Senator.

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

 Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to switch Kimberly Jurgensen from Broward Pines to Journalism and Mass Communication.
 Senator Krauskopf seconded.

Sola Adebodun	Yay
Kerline Honore	Yay
Kim Jurgensen	Yay
Carolina Krauskopf	Yay
Christopher Morisset	Yay
Ami Nakagawa	Yay
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yay
Abel Ramos Taype	Yay
Xue Yan	Yay

By unanimous vote of 9/0/0, Senator Kimberly Jurgensen switched to be the new Journalism and Mass Communication Senator.

- 2. Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator Appointment.
 - a. Darlyne Joseph

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

b. Lorena Lizaralde

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

- Lorena Lizaralde did not meet the requirement for attending Senate meetings on Mondays at 3:30pm therefore she was not considered in voting.
- Motion: Senator Honore moved appoint Darlyne Joseph as the new Hospitality and Tourism Management senator.

Senator Adebodun seconded.

Sola Adebodun	Yay
Kerline Honore	Yay
Kim Jurgensen	Yay
Carolina Krauskopf	Yay

Christopher Morisset	Yay
Ami Nakagawa	Yay
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yay
Abel Ramos Taype	Yay
Xue Yan	Yay

By vote of 9/0/0, Darlyne Joseph became the Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator.

3. Arts and Sciences Senator Appointment.

a. Ismail Hassan

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

 Motion: Senator Adebodun moved to appoint Ismail Hassan as the new Arts & Sciences senator.

Senator Jurgensen seconded.

Sola Adebodun	Yay
Kerline Honore	Yay
Kim Jurgensen	Yay
Darlyne Joseph	Yay
Carolina Krauskopf	Yay
Christopher Morisset	Yay
Ami Nakagawa	Yay
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yay
Abel Ramos Taype	Yay
Xue Yan	Yay

By unanimous vote of 10/0/0, Ismael Hassan became Arts & Sciences senator.

b. Olivia Dehaarte

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

 Motion: Senator Honore moved to appoint Olivia Dehaarte as the new Arts & Sciences Senator.

Senator Krauskopf seconded.

By unanimous acclamation, Olivia Dehaarte became the new Arts & Sciences Senator.

- 4. Lower Divition Senator Appointment.
 - a. Magalie Gabriel

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

 Motion: Senator Krauskopf moved to appoint Magalie Gabriel as the Lower Divition Senator.

Senator Morisset seconded.

Yay
Yay

By unanimous vote of 11/0/0, Magalie Gabriel became Lower Divition senator.

5. Housing Senator Appointment.

a. Jianyi Wang

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, questions and answers.

 Motion: Senator Adebodun moved to appoint Jianyi Wang as the Housing Senator Krauskopf seconded.

By unanimous acclamation, Jianyi Wang became the Housing Senator.

C. Finance Committee Member Appointment.

 Motion: Senator Morriset moved to nominate Senator Jurgensen to Finance Committee member.

Senator Jurgensen accepted.

 Motion: Senator Honore moved to add Senator Jurgensen as member of the Finance Committee.

Senator Jurgensen seconded. (passed unanimously)

Point of Personal Privilege by Jianyi Wang at 4:54pm

 Motion: Senator Morriset moved to appoint Senator Krauskopf as member of the Finance Committee.

Senator Krauskopf accepted.
Senator Jurgensen seconded. (passed unanimously)

Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to adjourn the meeting.
 Senator Jurgensen seconded. (passed unanimously)

D. <u>ADJOUREMENT</u>

Speaker of the Senate Odimayo adjourned the meeting at 4:55pm