Florida International University FIU Digital Commons

SGA BBC Document Archive

7-9-2012

Senate Meeting Minutes 07.09.12

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive

Recommended Citation

Student Government Association BBC, Florida International University, "Senate Meeting Minutes 07.09.12" (2012). SGA BBC Document Archive. 845.

https://digitalcommons.fiu.edu/sgabbc-archive/845

This work is brought to you for free and open access by FIU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in SGA BBC Document Archive by an authorized administrator of FIU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact dcc@fiu.edu.



Florida International University

Student Government Council - Biscayne Bay Campus & Pines Center

<u>MINUTES</u>

SGC-BBC Senate Meeting July 9th, 2012

I. CALL TO ORDER

The Student Government Council - Biscayne Bay Campus held a Senate meeting on July 9th, 2012, in WUC 201. The meeting was called to order at approximately **3:35pm**, by Speaker of the Senate Oluwatamilore Odimayo.

II. IN ATTENDANCE

Sola Adebodun, Senator At-Large
Oluwatobi Adekoya, President of the Senate / SGC-BBC Vice President
Kerline Honore, Arts & Sciences Senator
Ertha Jean-Francois, Arts & Sciences Senator
Kimberly Jurgensen, Broward Pines Center Senator
Carolina Krauskopf, Honors College Senator
Christopher Morisset, Lower Division Senator
Ami Nakagawa, Business Administration Senator (*Tardy 3:36*)
Desir Nonhomme, Arts & Sciences Senator
Oluwatamilore Odimayo, Senator At-Large / Speaker of the Senate
Abel Ramos Taype, Senator At-Large / Speaker Pro-Tempore of the Senate
Xue Yan, Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator

III. ABSENT

Kevin Houston, Journalism & Mass Communication Senator Stephen Nunez, Journalism & Mass Communication Senator Xue Yang, Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator

IV. GUESTS

Pablo Haspel, Student Government President Yuyang Hou, Marketing Coordinator Candidate Maria Reynaga, Internal Affairs Coordinator Candidate Catherine Vega, Chief of Staff Rafael Zapata, Student Government Advisor

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• **Motion:** Senator Ramos Taype moved to table the approval of minutes for next Senate Meeting.

Senator Morisset seconded (passed unanimously)

VI. SPEAKER OF THE SENATE REPORT

- University Wide Committee is meeting on Wednesday at 6:00pm at MMC.

VII. SPEAKER PRO-TEMPORE REPORT

No Report.

VIII. FINANCE CHAIR REPORT

- Searching for one Graduate Senator to begin with meetings.
- One request for founds on the committee.

IX. RULES, LEGISLATION AND JUDICIARY CHAIR REPORT

- The Committee had a meeting earlier and it passed one Resolution.

X. OPERATIONAL REVIEW CHAIR REPORT

No Report.

XI. INTERNAL AFFAIRS CHAIR REPORT

 Contacted Stephen Nunez previous weekend and he was supposed to sign a Leave of Absence that current week.

XII. STUDENT ADVOCACY CHAIR REPORT

- The Committee had a meeting earlier on which they discussed the surveys that are going to be conducted.

XIII. OLD BUSINESS

A. Resolution Vetoed

Speaker Odimayo made all corrections needed and proofed read them.

Motion: Senator Nonhomme moved to suspend rules and by pass readings

Senator Adebodun (passed unanimously)

 Motion: Senator Nonhome moved to vote on the Second Entrance Forum Resolution

Senator Ramos Taype seconded (passed unanimously)

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 the Second Entrance Forum Resolution passed.

 Motion: Senator Jurgensen moved to vote on the Information Board for Hospitality Management Building Resolution

Senator Morisset seconded (passed unanimously)

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 the Information Board for Hospitality Management Building Resolution passed.

Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to vote on the Microwave Resolution. Senator Nonhome seconded (passed unanimously)

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes

Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 the Microwave Resolution passed.

B. Internal Procedures

1. Senator Houston Impeachment

Motion: Senator Nakagawa moved to vote on start the procedures for Senator Houston's Impeachment.

Senator Jurgensen seconded (passed unanimously)

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	No
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 9/1/0 Impeachment Procedures will start in the next two weeks

IX. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>

A. Resolutions

1. Student Concerns Box

Motion: Senator Nonhome moved to vote on the resolution Senator Morisset seconded (passed by unanimous acclamation)

2. Installment Student Information Board for the Honors College in Academic I Building

Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to vote on the resolution Senator Nonhome seconded. (passed unanimously)

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 the Information Board for the Honors College in Academic I Resolution passed

CABINET APPOINTMENTS:

A. Internal Affairs Coordinator: Maria Reynaga

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, question and answers.

 Motion: Senator Ramos Taype moved to approve the appointment for Internal Affairs Coordinator.

Senator Nonhome seconded.

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 Maria Reynaga became the new Internal Affairs Coordinator

B. Marketing Coordinator: Yuyang Hou

Speaker Odimayo opened the floor for introduction, question and answers.

 Motion: Senator Jean-Francois moved to aproove the appointment for Marketing Coordinator

Senator Nonhomr seconded.

Senator Ramos Taype requested Roll Call

Sola Adebodun	Yes
Kerline Honore	Yes
Ertha Jean-Francois	Yes
Kimberly Jurgensen	Yes
Carolina Krauskopf	Yes
Christopher Morisset	Yes
Ami Nakagawa	Yes
Desir Nonhomme	Yes
Oluwatamilore Odimayo	Yes
Abel Ramos Taype	Yes

By a vote of 10/0/0 Yuyang Hou became the new Marketing Coordinator

X. ANNOUNCEMENTS/CONCERNS

- Rules, Legislation and Judiciary Committee will meet for discussing more Resolutions.
- Bowling Council engagement.

XI. ADJOUREMENT

Speaker of the Senate Odimayo adjourned the meeting at 4:22pm